User server management

Take control of a user’s server

Hub admins can unilaterally perform actions on a user’s server via the Administrator’s Panel. These are primarily used to debug a user’s session easily.

You can access the admin panel by clicking the Admin button in the top bar in your hub control panel. Alternatively, you can go to this URL in your browser: https://<your-hub-url>/hub/admin.

Access a user’s server

Accessing a user’s server is useful when trying to debug or reproduce an issue they might have. This facility is available to admins via the admin panel.

  1. In the admin panel, you can click access server to gain control of a user’s currently running server. If it isn’t running, you can click start server first and wait for it to start.

    ../../_images/access-server.png

    Clicking “access server” will allow you to control the user’s session.

  2. This will bring you to the default interface that the user would have seen if they had just logged into the hub. From here, you can navigate to the notebook the user has reported issues with, and help them debug.

    Warning

    If you both work on the same notebook at the same time, you will just overwrite each other’s code! The state of the notebook will be that of whoever saved the notebook last. There is no Google Docs’ style real-time collaboration yet, although it is coming

    Warning

    When you control a user’s server, all of your actions will be run as if the user ran it themselves. This can be confusing for some users and is generally not best-practice. We recommend telling users when you are taking over their session, and using this feature mostly to understand what the user was trying to do, rather than to make major changes to their code or notebook outputs.

Stop or start a user’s server

Sometimes, you need to just turn a user’s server on and off. You can also do this from the admin interface, by hitting the Stop server button, waiting for the server to stop, and the Start server button again.

This is particularly useful when their session might have gotten out of whack by packages they’ve installed temporarily that screwed up the default, since a restart will wipe the slate clean.

Important

When a user’s server is stopped (by an admin, or by the user themselves), no data is lost in the user’s home directory. However, any packages temporarily installed via !pip or !conda are cleared, to make sure that everyone in the hub is operating from the same clean environment as much as possible. Active notebooks have their kernel killed as well.

Stop user servers after inactivity

To ensure efficient resource usage, user servers without interactive usage for a period of time (default 1h) are automatically stopped (via jupyterhub-idle-culler). This means your notebook server might be stopped for inactivity even if you have a long running process in the notebook. This timeout can be configured.

Culling has the same effect as stopping a user’s server.

There is currently no maximum time limit for a user’s notebook.

Stop user kernels after inactivity

In addition to the user server, there may also be culling at the kernel level. The kernel is the thing that actually “runs code”, and a kernel without any activity for some time means that somebody has not executed code in that time.

By default, kernels will be checked for activity every 5 minutes. All kernels that haven’t shown activity in in the last hour will be stopped by the jupyterhub-idle-culler.

This window can be configured if you’d like to change the window of inactivity needed before user kernels will be stopped. See the Hub Engineer’s guide for some documentation on this.